Week 4/11: Retrospective

Week 4. Admittedly, the weekly “forced” writing challenge is starting to be a drag. I’ll rather be losing myself in Robin Cook’s new medical thriller (“Cure”, on loan from the library).
But isn’t that what challenges are all about?
A challenge is both demanding and stimulating. Demanding because you have to find an innate motivation to complete it. Stimulating because you can look back and savor the sweetness of that completion.
Some random thoughts/interesting stuff I found off the web this week:
    • It rained for almost 3 days straight in the early part of the week. I love rain. Particularly if I’m the passenger in the front seat of the car. I love the splitter splatter of the rain on the windscreen. I love that rhythmic swipe of windscreen wiper. It’s almost hypnotic.
    • It was the first year that I helped my mum cook for the lunar new year. I don’t know why, but it just hit me that if I do not start learning, I may never be able to recreate those age-old recipes infused with their original flavors of homeliness. Perhaps it’s a recognition of mortality, or that I have reached a point in my life where understanding where I’m from is just as important as knowing where I’m going. So, I cooked nonya-style curry chicken. The secret, my friends, is in the potatoes and in my mum’s home-made chili sauce which I have yet to pick up.
    • It must be nice to open a bar with the cocktails inspired by one’s lost loves. Check out the bar 13 wives at Kampong Bugis for a preview where each drink is accompanied by a soulful narrative of the woman who inspired it.
    • Ms. A and I have planned a grand holiday in June/July to Chengdu. Chengdu is apparently also referred to as the Land of Milk & Honey! I’m not kidding. It sounds almost like the Oriental version of the Promiseland! So yum to pandas, gorges, valleys, E-mei mountain, great Buddha statues, spicy sichuan food and tea houses where you can waste whole afternoons away.
    • Love these 2 quotes about writing from here.

    “Writing is easy: All you do is sit staring at a blank sheet of paper until drops of blood form on your forehead.” ~Gene Fowler

    “We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospection.” ~Anaïs Nin

    Leave a comment

    Filed under 2011

    Leave a Reply

    