Sweet Solitude

I chanced upon this quotation recently.

“Solitude is painful when one is young, but delightful when one is more mature.” 

Albert Einstein.

Ahh, sweet. My travel plans for London & Edinburgh are all firmed up (yeah, I chose Scottish Whisky over Parisian Macaroons).  I’m looking forward to visiting Ms. J & Ms. F in London, and even more so for my lone 4-day travel up to Edinburgh & the highlands.

Edinburgh’s going to be my first “real” trip alone.  Sure, I have travelled alone by myself – work trips to Seoul, Bangkok and the one-year graduate school in Sydney, but that’s different. They were circumstantial decisions taken, rather than unfettered choices.

And, you know your relationship with yourself (and food & travel) has progressed to another level when you booked a dinner table for 1 at a michelin-starred restaurant. And no, I’m not going to bring a book, nor my iphone to the dinner.

It will be just me, enjoying the food and the solitude. Salut!

2 Comments

Filed under Scattered Thoughts, Travel

2 responses to “Sweet Solitude

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review: Part 3 (Globetrotting) | Cinical, with a dash of idealism

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review: Part 3 (Globetrotting) – Revisited! | Cinical, with a dash of idealism

Leave a Reply

