Life with a Law Student: Conflict of Interest

At some point in a relationship, conversations will always steer towards money. “Your money, my money and our money” and the line to draw between them.

Mr Cinical and I had spent the last 2 years paying off our graduate school loans. I had recently finished paying off mine, while he had recently finished paying off his loan for the first year of law school. It was finally time for us to think about saving up.

Mr Cinical: I just opened up a new savings account at Bank X, the interest rate’s higher. Perhaps we should pool together our savings into an account?

Me: [Eyeing Mr. Cinical suspiciously. Evidently, I belong to that category of females who prefer not to let their husband know about their stash of savings.]

Mr Cinical: You look suspicious, like I’m going to cheat you of your money. Perhaps, I can provide you a legal opinion as to what you should do.

Me: You, providing me an opinion as to whether we should pool our money together in a single account under your name? Isn’t there a conflict of interest?

Mr Cinical: [attempting to look innocent] What conflict?

Me: Urm, my interest?

2 Comments

Filed under Scattered Thoughts

2 responses to “Life with a Law Student: Conflict of Interest

  1. Paige

    This is really funny – considering I belong to the category of females who manage the household like a P&L + balance sheet. haha. Hope you are well. It has been way too long since I last saw you and Joanne (>1 year ago, in 2009 celebrating the last year of our 3rd decade, before she flew off). So fast. Miss you both loads. Look forward to catching up when back in SG.

  2. Paige

    Oops – actually maybe I didn’t want to leave my last comment so out in the open. *haha

Leave a Reply

