Things I realised recently

First they came for the Communists, and I didn’t speak up, because I wasn’t a Communist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak up, because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for the Catholics, and I didn’t speak up, because I was a Protestant.

Then they came for me, and by that time there was no one left to speak up for me.  -Pastor Martin Niemöller

 

That sometimes, in a David v Goliath situation, David can’t win because there are just too many suckers willing to pander to Goliath’s commands, however illogical or unreasonable.

But that should not stop David from speaking up.

And when David speaks, he should do it with diplomacy and tact.

Diplomacy’s not about being soft and backing down on a position. But about framing an opinion in a palatable manner so that Goliath can only choose to disagree with the substance, and not the manner of delivery.

PS: I hope to blog about happier things soon. Always good to be optimistic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

