Resisting a buy = Maturity?

Vancouver — I finally figured out why people in the Northern Hemisphere love shopping on Boxing Day – apart from the major sales, of course. It’s the huddling together, with snow blowing in your face and slush on your feet as you stand in line in the cold outside the Coach store, which according to a lady – has discounts of more than 50%.

It’s the satisfaction of scoring a bargain (or two) in sub-zero temperatures, when the tv channels warn all to stay at home in case of storms, and thereafter having a donut and hot choc (or two). 

The scene was pure madness along Robson Street. People standing in line for hours waiting to get into Coach. I had a peek in, women (and some men) were snatching the bags off the shelves, lining the bags on the hands. 5 (at least) on each! 

Funnily, for a shopaholic, I did not join in. I was hungry and the appeal of food was stronger than the appeal of a 50% discount on Coach bags. And after lunch, I managed to resist buying a C$200 leather jacket that fitted me perfectly because I would not be wearing that in Singapore. Although now, I can’t get the jacket off my mind (but that’s another issue). 

I surprised myself sometimes.

15 years ago, I was on Orchard Road with my best girlfriend. We went to all the sales, spent all our money and had to share a cup of instant noodles on the steps of Centrepoint because that was the only thing we could afford. It was before we both were allowed credit cards (a very wise decision by our parents then).

I like to think I matured. Or that my mother’s constant nagging that I have too much shoes, clothes and bags have finally sunk in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

